<

XXth International Festival Abel Carlevaro

Our Team
Over the years, an international team of assistants has evolved and integrated into the workings of the course. They assist in the group work (morning sessions) devoted to the learning of mechanism.

Leon Frijns (Nederlands)
Leon Frijns studied at the Conservatorium voor Muziek in Maastricht, as well as participating in masterclasses given by well-known guitarists. Since 1990 he teaches the guitar at the Conservatoire de Musique du Nord in Luxemburg. From 1998 he made a special study of the guitar teaching of Abel Carlevaro, studying at first with assistants and later with Carlevaro himself. Since, Leon Frijns is appreciated as a teacher of the Carlevaro Technique at international guitar seminars. In 2005, Leon qualified as a teacher of the Alexander Technique. It is his wish to integrate this practical technique in daily life and especially in performing and teaching music.




Janez Gregoric (Austria)
Janez Gregoric studied guitar at the Hochscule fuer Musik und darstellende Kunst in Graz, Austria, with Prof. Martin Myslivecek. In 1995 he was awarded a state scholarship to study the Carlevaro guitar school with Patrick Zeoli, Berlin. Following this he studied with Abel Carlevaro during a series of visits to Montevideo over a period spanning several years. In addition he has taken part in courses and classes with Maria Livia Sao Marcos, John Duarte, Alfredo Escande, Gordon Crosskey,David Russell, Roland Zimmer and others. Janez Gregoric performs frequently in many parts of Europe both as solist and in chamber music ensembles and since 1998 has been teaching at various international guitar courses. He is recognized as a specialist and authority on the guitar school of Abel Carlevaro. In 1999 he produced a monograph ' Abel Carlevaro - his work as a a milestone in the development of the guitar ' and in 2002 he published his first CD " Hommage a Abel Carlevaro".


Rene Toriello (Guatemala)
Rene Toriello made his first guitar studies in Guatemala with Alejandro Herrera and Manuel lopez Ramos and has participated in classes and seminars with Alvaro Pierri, Jaime Zenamon, Quiqe Sinesi, Juan Falu, Jose luis Merlin and Abel Carlevaro. As guitarist, bassist and percussionist he has worked in both a solo capacity and with various groups involving a wide variety of styles ( Salsa, Flamenco, Jazz and World Music). He has devised and directed many ensembles and duos with a strong emphasis on the music of Latin America. Rene Toriello has been involved in numerous CD recordings, radio and television productions , music theatre projects and has concertised in both Europe and the Americas. For many years he has been teaching guitar at the Leo Kestenberg Musikschule, Berlin ,and the International Guitar Festival " Abel Carlevaro " in Erlbach.


Patrick Zeoli (Irland - Argentina)
Patrick Zeoli was born in Argentina, grew up in Ireland and lives today in Germany. This multifaceted background has had a decisive influence on his artistic development. A former student of Abel Carlevaro, Carlo Domeniconi and Eduardo Fernandez, he has travelled and performed w idely in Europe and the Americas, participating in all kinds of festivals and artistic events. In addition to his classes in Berlin he regularly teaches seminars to guitarists in Bolivia, Estonia and Ireland. Patrick Zeoli is an acknowledged authority on South american music of all types and has developed the study of guitar technique based on improvisation.

XX. Internationales Festival Abel Carlevaro

Das Team
Im Laufe der Jahre hat sich ein internationales Team von Assistenten herausgebildet, das in die Struktur des Kurses integriert wurde. Die Assistenten leiten die Gruppenarbeit (an Vormittagen), die der Auseinandersetzung mit dem Mechanismus gewidmet ist.

Leon Frijns (Holland)
Leon Frijns ist seit 1990 als Gitarrenlehrer dem Conservatoire de Musique du Nord in Diekirch (Luxemburg) verbunden. Er studierte Gitarre am Conservatorium voor Muziek in Maastricht (Niederlande) und nahm an zahlreichen Kursen und Seminaren von nahmhaften Gitarristen teil. Seine Spieltätigkeit umfasst ein breites Spektrum von Solo- und Kammermusik als auch Jazz und Popularmusik. Von 1998 an spezialisierte er sich in der Escuela de la Guitarra von Abel Carlevaro, zuerst bei Assistenten und dann in Montevideo bei Carlevaro selbst. 2005 vollendete er die Lehrerausbildung in der Alexander-Technik unter der Leitung von Elizabeth Langford, eine der Pioniere in der Anwendung der Alexander-Technik beim Musizieren. Es ist sein Anliegen die Escuela de la Guitarra von Abel Carlevaro und die Alexander-Technik zum Vorteil des Gitarristen und Gitarrenspiels einzusetzen.




Janez Gregoric (Österreich)
Janez Gregoric studierte Gitarre an der Hochschule für Musik und darstellende Kunst in Graz bei Prof. Martin Myslivecek. 1995 gewährte ihm das Bundesministerium für Kunst ein Arbeitsstipendium zum Erlernen der Carlevaro-Schule bei Patrick Zeoli in Berlin. Danach studierte er über den Zeitraum von mehreren Jahren bei Maestro Abel Carlevaro in Montevideo (Uruguay). Zusätzliche musikalische Erfahrungen sammelte er bei GitarristInnen (Maria Livia Sao Marcos, John W. Duarte, Roland Zimmer, Gordon Crosskey, David Russel, Alfredo Escande u. a.). Janez Gregoric tritt als Solist und Kammermusiker in vielen Ländern Europas auf. Er ist seit 1998 als Vortragender bei internationalen Seminaren tätig und als Kenner der »Lehre und Methode Abel Carlevaros» ausgewiesen. 1999 verfasste er die Monographie »Abel Carlevaro, Sein Schaffen als Meilenstein in der Entwicklung der Gitarre». 2002 erschien seine CD »Hommage á Abel Carlevaro».


Rene Toriello (Guatemala)
studierte Gitarre bei Alejandro Herrera und Manuel López Ramos in Guatemala. Er nahm an Kursen und Seminaren bei Alvaro Pierri, Jaime Zenamón, Quique Sinesi, Juan Falú, José Luis Merlin und Abel Carlevaro teil. Als Gitarrist, Bassist und Perkussionist tritt er sowohl solistisch als auch mit Gruppen verschiedenster Stilrichtungen auf (Salsa, Flamenco, Jazz, Weltmusik). Mitgestaltung und Leitung von Kammermusik-Ensembles und Duos mit Schwerpunkt Musik Lateinamerikas. Als Solist Konzerte im In- und Ausland, u.a. auch in internationalen Gitarrenfestivals. Zahlreiche CD-Einspielungen und Studioaufnahmen in Funk- und Fernsehübertragungen sowie Mitwirkung bei Musiktheater-Projekten. Langjährige Unterrichtstätigkeit an der ­Leo Kestenberg Musikschule­ in Berlin und Assistent beim Internationalen Gitarren-Festival ­Abel Carlevaro­ in Erlbach.


Patrick Zeoli (Irland - Argentinien)
Patrick Zeoli wurde in Argentininen geboren, wuchs in Irland auf und lebt zurzeit in Deutschland. Dieser vielfältige Lebenslauf hat seine künstlerische Entwicklung entscheidend geprägt. Als ehemaliger Student von Abel Carlevaro, Carlo Domeniconi und Eduardo Fernandez, hat er Europa und Nord- wie Südamerika bereist und trat dort als Gitarrist bei zahlreichen Festivals und Musikveranstaltungen auf. Neben seiner Lehrtätigkeit in Berlin hält er regelmässig Seminare in Bolivien, Estland und Irland. Patrick Zeoli ist ein anerkannter Kenner jeder Stilrichtung der Musik Südamerikas und entwickelte eine eigene Lehre der Gitarrentechnik, die auf Improvisation basiert.